Book Reviews

Book Review – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millenium, #1)The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh. My. God! This was one epic story by Stieg Larsson. Initially, it seemed that the book is written in some detached, disinterested manner and you seem to keep reading it that way too not knowing why you are interested anyway. But then suddenly, the writer slaps you to reality with a plot so graphic, so vivid and disturbing you just never saw it coming and it seems impossible to put the book down after that! I literally read some pages with my mouth hanging open.

I will not reveal anything as I don’t want to spoil the story, besides what to say that haven’t been said already. But I HAVE to say this, the relationships as depicted in this book are quite, well, twisted. I wonder if they ever exist like that in real life. Also, what was so charming about Blomkvist that older, younger and married women were falling for him left, right, center? I am kidding, I like the guy ;-) (he is still twisted though, relationship wise!).

There were times when the writing was extremely poor (possibly because of the translation) and we could have skipped the filler details esp. the writer’s attachment with coffee:

“He was making coffee”
“She smelled coffee”
“They offered coffee”
“We had coffee”
“We were out of coffee”
“They drank coffee”
“We had to buy more coffee”

Yeah okay dude we get it, they drink A LOT of coffee, stop annoying me before I pour hot coffee on you! Apart from the very detailed version of everyday life of the characters this book is a must read for everyone but I would advise people who can’t handle gruesome details to leave it be. The writer is excruciatingly cruel with the details at places. I just can’t wait to get my hands on the remaining two books in the series.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review – The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Love it, hate it? Go on say it. COMMENT!

