English / Me / Poems (by me) / Reflections

In the past


They say you shouldn’t live in the past,

But I visit often,

For hours I debate,

The rights and the wrongs,

I fantasize about the life I will not live,

No choices were there I had to move on,

In the chaos of my decisions,

I sit till darkness engulfs me,

But no longer it blurs my vision,

For each detail here is etched upon my heart,

I rest my back against the wall,

Instinctively my finger brushes against it,

I smile as I look at it,

I pick it up and blow the dust off,

The remains of your vow,

To forever be my friend,

I walk away,

With the memory in hand.

They say you shouldn’t live in the past,

Let them know,

You can’t live when,

There is no beating heart …

20 thoughts on “In the past

  1. Really beautiful. The subtle and a little gloomy feel persists through out and make it even worthwhile. Beautifully witten! <3

    Like

  2. Pingback: “In The Past” | Schmerz...

Love it, hate it? Go on say it. COMMENT!

