English / Poems (by me)

Secrets of the Henna Girl


He tucked my hair behind my ear and gently stroked my cheek.

“You can tell me anything love… ”

“Anything?” I asked.

“Anything.” He smiled.

I turned around and walked towards the window. Quietly, I stare at the sky. I can feel his gaze.. feel the unspoken questions that linger in the room. I have no answers. I have no words. I only have these silent tears and I have now become the person who refuses to share even that …

 

You ask me about my secrets,
Why I don’t share,
I find it hard to explain,
It’s because I truly care.

Distances will become our fate,
We’ll too drift apart,
I won’t be able to take it now,
If one more person breaks my heart.

Only He knows the secrets of the Henna girl,
Only He listens and understands,
There is no one else I trust anymore,
The vicious cycle has finally come to an end.

People want to speak and be heard,
But, for me, the opposite is now true,
I want you to accept my silence,
The question that scares me is, would you?

 

He stood next to me, careful not to look at my face and gently intertwined his fingers with mine. I turned around and smiled.

 

PS. This has nothing to do with the book by Sufiya Ahmed. The book cover (and name =D) was so inspiring that I ended up writing this. It’s not that great but I am glad I am writing SOMETHING! It’s been ages and I miss it!

6 thoughts on “Secrets of the Henna Girl

  1. That was deep.. and short.. and tender and absolutely beautiful. Coming up with a whole scenario and then writing a narrative based on it, is not an easy thing, but you pretty much nailed it. It.. actually left me asking for more. Thumbs up girl, keep writing :)

    Like

  2. “I won’t be able to take it now,
    If one more person breaks my heart.”
    “There is no one else I trust anymore,
    The vicious cycle has finally come to an end.”
    Sad and beautiful. It feels like an open ending rather than a happy one to me. :)

    Like

Love it, hate it? Go on say it. COMMENT!

