Islam / Me / Reflections / Religion / Urdu

Alvida Junaid Jamshed


Wafa tum na dekho ge hargiz kisi mai,
Zamana woh aisa qareeb araha hai,
Hifazat karo apney iman o deen ki,
Zamana woh aisa ajeeb araha hai…

إِنَّا لِلّهِ وَإِنَّـا إِلَيْهِ رَاجِعون

Junaid Jamshed was finally laid to rest yesterday. I wanted to write something about him since the day he left us. I am still shocked and heartbroken to write anything coherent. There are so many things I want to say but words fail me.

Yes, like every other Pakistani I was a fan for as long as I can remember. I grew up with his songs as a child and then saw his amazing transformation in my teens. And then he was just this inspirational religious example for every Muslim.

Sadly it was after his death I, along with many others I am sure, realised what an exceptional human being he was. All the stories that kept pouring in from his friends, family, colleagues,  or even a person who just had a chat with him once on the phone or whatsapped him were not of his songs, naats or what a huge celebrity he was it was only about his polite, loving and down to earth nature – it was about his adaab. The more I heard and read about him my respect for him grew ten folds.

It’s that time of the year when everyone will be high on new years resolutions.. how this is going to be their year when they will turn their life around. People are not even able to stick to it for a year. This man left everything behind at the peak of his career and went down this difficult path where he would be ridiculed not only by strangers but probably his own friends and family. And, I am ashamed to admit, yes he was. But subhanAllah, he never went back on his resolve and that is no easy task. Instead he won hearts of people from all walks of life with his humble personality and actions. It was evident in the fact that it wasn’t just the religious scholars but also celebs from entertainment industry that were crying for him and were present at his funeral.

We’ve all judged someone who suddenly starts wearing a hijab or grows a beard or starts praying five times a day or stops listening to songs. If nothing else atleast we love ridiculing the “seasonal muslims” of Ramzan. Have you ever tried changing one thing about yourself? Just one thing. Like maybe I will not use foul language or I will stop smoking or I will not indulge in gossip. It’s not easy.. maybe starting it is but sticking to it? That’s a whole different story.

Junaid Jamshed was a human being not an angel. He was prone to making mistakes and he did make them and I am sure like all of us he tried his best to rectify them. In this age and time when following one commandment of deen is like holding a burning coal in hand, he went above and beyond. So when I heard Maulana Tariq Jamil on Waseem Badami’s show saying that a man saw the Prophet (Salalaho Alaihay Wasalam) in his dream talking about Junaid Jamshed.. how he was forgiven and received it gave me immense peace and pleasure.

Tumhe kuch khabar hai kahan ja raha hoon,
Rasool-e-Khuda hain wahan ja raha hoon,
Tumhe kuch khabar hai main kya pa raha hoon,
Mohabbat ka unki maza pa raha hoon, 
Chalo ja kay rehna Madinay mai ab tau,
Qiyamat ka manzar qareeb aa raha hai…

I don’t know what it was that I had planned to write originally. It’s all jumbled up in my head. I want to say this though, I realised I want to be like Junaid Jamshed. That when I die people only have good things to say about me, pray for me and I change someone’s life for the better. That when people hurt me I forgive them and pray for their guidance. That I don’t just talk about the Sunnah of the Prophet but follow it as much as possible. And above all I respect everyone and not be judgmental.

Alvida Junaid Jamshed. You were the pride of Pakistan and always will be. May Allah forgive all your sins, gives you ajar of all your good deeds and grant you the highest place in Jannah. Ameen.

Dil Dil Pakistan,
Jaan Jaan Pakistan… forever.
Love it, hate it? Go on say it. COMMENT!

